“You Are Fat” & Bad Messaging

Before starting my fitness blog (www.edanjoygelt.com) – I was working with a MedSpa on a marketing project. I was hired to drive sales for non-invasive body contouring (I know, totally anti-fitness).

In addition to digital marketing, we decided an oversized postcard to the target market would be the most direct way to get this message out. The owner really wanted the message to be prominent – something to capture attention about lipo-type services the MedSpa offered. She said “Edan, I want you to make the headline “You are Fat” or “Are you Fat?”. I couldn’t.

I had to educate my client about messaging, marketing and branding. It was actually challenging to overcome her insistence of such a crass headline. She wanted something bold, something to capture attention (which bad messaging did) but not in the way it needed to. I was challenged – I could never put my name on such an advertisement.

Edan Gelt

First, fat people don’t really believe or even know they are fat. Second, if they were really “FAT”, non-invasive body contouring probably isn’t the answer. Lastly, I don’t body shame – ever!.

I needed to come up with a clever way to sell body services without being rude, but at the same time, not boring. The campaign wound up being “Hangover?” It fit perfectly since it was over the holidays, a lot of people were likely a bit hungover and were feeling a bit “bloated”.

To further drive home the message of health in the campaign (which I couldn’t help but include), I suggested the client partner with a local gym to offer a 3-month membership with any body-contouring procedure over $1,000. The campaign landed as a win-win, it was well accepted by the client base, generated new leads for the gym and resulted in double-digit increase for body contouring.

What I really liked about the campaign is that by partnering with the gym, It positioned the MedSpa as a facility that cared about the long term health of the client.

3 thoughts on ““You Are Fat” & Bad Messaging

Leave a Reply

